Vedic Astrology

Vedic Astrology or Jyotish is a part of six limbs of Vedang which literally means light of God. An astrological chart drawn to show positions and aspects of sun, moon and planets at particular time and place is called horoscope. Vedic astrology involves study of horoscope to reveal cosmic influences on human beings as a reflection of law of Karma. There are three types of karma based on this theory. These are

  • sanchit karma
  • prarabdha karma
  • kriyamana karma

Sanchit karma are all accumulated karmas of previous lives.

The portion of sanchita karma which influences human life in the present incarnation is called Prarabdha karma in the form of fate reflected in horoscope. And third is kriyamana karma, the actions or deeds (good or bad) which is in the hands of native in the form of free will, and becomes sanchit karma upon completion and thus responsible for future or future lives. Obviously freewill is always there in the form kriyamana karma that native must excercise in given circumstances decided by fate or prarabdha karma. Jyotish believes that spiritual practices as described by Vedas, Upnishads and Purans not only help in bringing greater harmony in life by balancing material pleasures generated out of sense gratification but also lead to self realization resulting absolute truth revealed in the form of supreme consiousness. These spiritual practices include acts of sacrifices, charity, meditation as described by yoga and to use gems as remedial measures among others.